Im Folgenden eine Liste armenischer gesetzlicher Feiertage:

1. Januar – Neujahr (Amanor)
2. Januar – Neujahrs-Feiertag
5. Januar – Armenischer Heiligabend
6. Januar – Armenische Weihnachten (Surb Tsnund)
28. Januar – Armee-Tag
8. März – Frauentag
24. April – Völkermord-Gedenktag
1. Mai – Tag der Arbeit
9. Mai – Tag des Sieges und des Friedens
28. Mai – Tag der Ersten Republik Armeniens
5. Juli – Tag der Verfassung
21. September – Unabhängigkeitstag
31. Dezember – Silvester

Freizeitaktivitäten, geselliges Leben und Feiertage

In mehreren Theatern finden verschiedene kulturelle Veranstaltungen statt, darunter Konzerte, Theaterstücke und Festivals. Viele der Stücke werden jedoch auf Russisch oder Armenisch aufgeführt. Die Aram Khatchaturian Concert Hall, Heimat des Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra, bietet wöchentlich klassische Konzerte und oft eingeladene Solisten aus der ganzen Welt. Das angrenzende Opernhaus (Spendiarian Armenian National Opera and Ballet Theatre) bietet das ganze Jahr über Opern und Ballette an. Weitere interessante Konzertsäle sind der Komitas Chamber Music Hall, in dem Konzerte mit klassischer, alter und Avantgarde-Musik in der Tagesordnung stehen. Der armenische Sport-und Musikkomplex hält verschiedene Musikveranstaltungen von Jazz über Pop und Varieté ab. Vor kurzem wurden zwei Multiplex-Theater eröffnet (in denen gelegentlich Filme in Originalsprache gezeigt werden). Zu dieser Zeit gibt es auch eine handvoll älterer Kinos in Eriwan. Die meisten Filme sind ausländische Filme, die von Englisch und Französisch ins Russische übersetzt wurden, gelegentlich werden jedoch auch englischsprachige Filme gezeigt. Das National History Museum organisiert das ganze Jahr über mehrere Filmreihen und das ganze Jahr über verschiedene Filmfestivals, darunter das Golden Apricot International Film Festival im Juli sowie das British Film Festival, das European Union Film Festival usw. Jeden Samstag und Sonntag gibt es einen Kunstmarkt im Freien (Vernissage), auf dem Kunstwerke, Kunsthandwerk, Teppiche, Schmuck, Kristallglaswaren, alte Kameras, verschiedene Souvenirartikel und andere interessante Waren verkauft werden. Das Nationalstadion beherbergt auch einen sehr großen Outdoor-Markt, auf dem Produkte aus dem gesamten Kaukasus und den Nachbarländern verkauft werden.

Während der heißen Sommermonate flüchten viele Armenier aus der Stadt, um sich am See Sevan oder in ihren Landhäusern außerhalb von Eriwan zu entspannen. Schach, Backgammon und Fußball sind sehr beliebt, und einige Armenier spielen Basketball, Volleyball, Tennis, Badminton und Tischtennis. Im Sommer gibt es Möglichkeiten zum Segeln und Schwimmen, während in den Wintermonaten Skigebiete funktionieren. In Tsaghkadzor gibt es nördlich von Yerevan ein Skizentrum, das mit drei Sesselliften neu renoviert wurde.

Armenien ist ein Land mit einer starken Musiktradition. Ein großer Teil der armenischen Kinder nimmt schon früh Musikunterricht, und es gibt Musikschulen, an denen musikalisch begabte Kinder ihre Fähigkeiten verbessern können. Armenier sind echte Musikliebhaber. Wenn Sie also ein tragbares Musikinstrument oder Notenblatt haben, das Sie gerne spielen möchten, empfehlen wir Ihnen, es mitzunehmen. Einige traditionelle armenische Instrumente umfassen das Doudouk (eine Holzflöte), das Dehol (eine Trommel unter dem Arm), das Kemancha (ein Saiteninstrument, das mit einem Bogen gespielt wird) und die Zourna (eine andere Art von Flöte).

In Armenien dreht sich viel um Essen, Musik, Singen und Tanzen.

Useful Links

Hike Armenia20180907075603

Hike Armenia

HIKEArmenia is the number one source of information and resources for hiking in Armenia. They believe Armenia is a place wort...
„100 years-100 facts“ raising awareness about Armenian history20180712144634

„100 years-100 facts“ raising awareness about Armenian history

„100 years-100 facts“  raising awareness about Armenian history and culture as a  way to commemorate the 100th ...
Cafes, restaurants, pubs and clubs20180712144456

Cafes, restaurants, pubs and clubs

List of cafes, restaurants, pubs and clubs in Yerevan at YerevanResto...

Bist du bereit Armenien zu erkunden?

Armenian public holidays:

January 1 – New Year’s Day (Amanor)
January 5 – Armenian Christmas Eve
January 6 – Armenian Christmas (Surb Tsnund)
January 28 – Army Day
March 8 – Women’s Day
April 24 – Genocide Victims Remembrance Day
May 1 – Labor Day
May 9 – Victory and Peace Day
May 28 – First Republic Day
July 5 – Constitution Day
September 21 – Independence Day
December 31 – New Year’s Eve

Leisure Activities, Social Life, and Holidays

Several theaters host various cultural events, including concerts, plays, and festivals. Many of the plays, however, are performed in Russian or Armenian. The Aram Khatchaturian Concert Hall, home of the Armenian National Philharmonic Orchestra, offers weekly classical concerts and often features invited soloists from around the world. The adjoining Opera House (Spendiarian Armenian National Opera and Ballet Theatre) offers operas and ballets throughout the year. Other concert halls of interest include the Komitas Chamber Music Hall, where concerts of classical, ancient and avant-garde music are the order of the day. The Armenian Sports and Music Complex holds various musical events from Jazz to pop and variety. Two multiplex theatres opened recently (that occationally screen original-language films).  There’s also a handful of older movie theaters functioning in Yerevan at this time. Most of the movies shown are foreign films, dubbed from English and French into Russian, but occasionally English language films are also shown. The National History Museum organizes several film series throughout the year and there are various film festivals throughout the year, including the Golden Apricot International Film Festival in July, as well as the British Film Festival, the European Union Film Festival, etc. Every Saturday and Sunday, there is an outdoor art market (named ‘Vernissage’) where artwork, handicrafts, carpets, jewelry, crystal glassware, old cameras, various souvenir items and other interesting goods are sold. The national stadium also hosts a very large outdoor market in which products from all over the Caucasus and neighboring countries are sold.

During the hot summer months many Armenians escape the city to relax at Lake Sevan or at their country homes, which are located outside of Yerevan. Chess, backgammon and soccer (it’s called ‘football’ in Armenia) are very popular, and some Armenians play basketball, volleyball, tennis, badminton, and ping-pong. Opportunities for sailing and swimming exist during the summer, and ski resorts function during the winter months. There is a ski center north of Yerevan, in Tsaghkadzor, which has been newly renovated with three chair lifts.

Armenia is a country with a strong musical tradition. A large percentage of Armenian children take music lessons at an early age, and there are music schools where musically talented children can hone their skills. Armenians are real music enthusiasts, so if you have a portable musical instrument or sheet music you’d like to play, we advise that you bring it with you. Some traditional Armenian instruments include the doudouk, a wooden flute; dehol, a drum held under the arm; kemancha, a string instrument played with a bow; and the zourna, another type of flute.

Much of Armenian social life revolves around food, music, singing, and dancing.

Useful Links

Hike Armenia20180907075603

Hike Armenia

HIKEArmenia is the number one source of information and resources for hiking in Armenia. They believe Armenia is a place wort...
“100 years-100 facts” raising awareness about Armenian history20180712144634

“100 years-100 facts” raising awareness about Armenian history

“100 years-100 facts”  raising awareness about Armenian history and culture as a  way to commemorate the 100th ...
Cafes, restaurants, pubs and clubs20180712144456

Cafes, restaurants, pubs and clubs

List of cafes, restaurants, pubs and clubs in Yerevan at YerevanResto...

Ready to Discover Armenia?